Wednesday, 15 July 2015

Press Release - Official launching of the Hong Kong Music Video Awards 2015

Organised by the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (Hong Kong Group) Limited (IFPI (Hong Kong Group) Ltd), with Create Hong Kong (CreateHK) of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region as the leading sponsor, the “Hong Kong Music Video Awards 2015” was launched in a press conference held on the 14th of July, 2015 at the Neway CEO Karaoke in Causeway Bay.  Local recording stars showed their support by attending the press conference.  While sharing their views in support of the awards, they called for community support. Attending artistes include Rubber Band, Endy Chow, Ken Hung, Fred Cheung, Eunice Chan, J.Arie, Vivian Chan, Super Girls, Takki, Jonathan Wong, Crystal, Yellow, Aki Chan, Fantaz, Lillian Chan, K C Lee, Shimica Wong, Felix Poon, Yu Chun Tung, Simon On, YY, Shelton, Gentlemen, Faith and Tiffany Ting.

The Hong Kong Music Video Awards 2015, which is the first of its kind in Hong Kong, merits outstanding music videos (MV) produced by local recording companies, in the aim for promoting creativity and the betterment in quality of MV, with a view to further driving the development of local music recording industry.  Mr Ng Yu, Chairman of the IFPI (Hong Kong Group) Ltd, said that “Music videos have emerged as a key element of the value chain in pop music recording industry.  The organising committee of the Hong Kong Music Video Awards 2015 firmly believes that the Awards would help promoting more interaction among both seasoned and new generation of MV producers, which in turn could help to enhance the professionalism and competitiveness of the Hong Kong music recording industry.  The Awards would also instill further interest into the public for watching the MVs”

The first Hong Kong Music Video Awards include 3 preliminaries which will lead to the finale at an awards presentation show event to be held in August 2016 in Hong Kong.  The 3 preliminaries will be organized in October, 2015, and February and June 2016 respectively.  An independent panel of adjudicators as well as the public will choose the top 10 scoring MVs plus 3 MVs by new artistes as finalists under a weighting of 70:30.  In addition, public will vote for a winner of the “Most popular MV” in each of the 3 preliminaries and the finale.  Voting is open to the public via  All MVs entries to the award need to be made by local companies for their direct signed artistes and released during the period from 1st May 2015 to 30th April, 2016.  The Hong Kong Music Video Awards Presentation will be held in August 2016 in which the independent panel of adjudicators will determine the final winners of various professional awards, and the public will vote for “The Most Popular MV”.

The organiser is pleased to have the support of a panel of celebrities as adjudicators. They include Mr. HO Laichuen, Mr. Wilson Chin and Mr. Patrick Siu present at the press conference and who would offer their expert advice on the entries.  Ms. Flora Kwong, Chairperson of the Project’s Organising Committee, said that “The high quality of local music videos will guarantee a tough task for the adjudicators in selecting  the best MVs from the nominations. The adjudicators will use their expertise to make a professional judgement, based on the song and performance by the artiste in the MVs, as well as the creativity and production standard of the MV.”

CreateHK, which is a dedicated office set up by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region to spearhead the development of local creative industries, fully supports the Hong Kong Music Video Awards 2015. Mr. Jerry Liu, Head of CreateHK, wished the project a good start. He also encouraged active participation by local artistes, with a view to showcasing the best MVs to the public and hence promoting Hong Kong as Asia’s pop music hub.

Today’s press conference was well-attended by artistes, directors and producers who showed their support to and recognition of the Awards which is a meaningful project. Artiste Endy Chow said “Every MV is the cumulative efforts of script writers, directors, props making, cinematography and post production.  It is no small task.  While the audience is enjoying the end result, we hope they could also appreciate the hard work behind each creative work”.  A new artiste Eunice Chan said  “We are glad to have a category of awards dedicated to new artistes. This could provide an additional platform for us as new artistes to share our music and creativity”.  Well known MV director Mr. Heison Ng said “By setting up an award scheme specially for MVs, Hong Kong has taken a major move and the right step in further raising the par of MVs. This could be an impetus to us as MV directors to produce more diversified yet quality MVs in order to compete for the annual awards.”

The entire project of Hong Kong Music Video Awards 2015 also includes the workshops as well as public voting.  Details and relevant pages on Facebook and Instagram will be announced at

The Hong Kong Music Video Awards 2015 is organised by the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (Hong Kong Group) Limited.  The organiser also expressed their gratitude to the leading sponsor Create Hong Kong (CreateHK) of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, as well as to the following organisations for their great support.

Host Broadcaster – Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK)
Supporting Media – TVB
Supporting Organisation – Hong Kong Design Institute (HKDI)
Neway CEO
Canon Hong Kong Co. Ltd
Hkonline TV

Disclaimer: Create Hong Kong of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region provides funding support to the project only, and does not otherwise take part in the project. Any opinions, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in these materials/events (or by members of the project team) are those of the project organizers only and do not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, the Communication and Technology Branch of the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau, Create Hong Kong, the CreateSmart Initiative Secretariat or the CreateSmart Initiative Vetting Committee.